Jack Varney Quintette – Melbourne 1970 VJAZZ 018 – VAR 498


When Jack Varney (on vibraphone) formed this quintette with Len Barnard, Fred Parker, Tony Gould and Derek Capewell in 1970 it sounded like Australia’s answer to the Benny Goodman small groups. Originally released on LP as Sweet and Hot it features Sugar, Deep Purple, I’ve Found a New Baby, Poor Butterfly and others.

In stock

SKU: 498 Category: Tag:


1. I’ve Got A Feeling I’m Falling
2.  Sugar
3.  Deep Purple
4.  I’ve Found A New Baby
5.  Time On My Hands
6.  Fine And Dandy
7.  Melancholy Baby
8.  Get Happy
9.  Poor Butterfly
10.  Doin’ The New Lowdown
11.  Once In A While
12.  China Boy

Additional information

Weight 84 g
Dimensions 14 × 12 × 1 cm